The Whole Shablog

The ideas, rants, rambles, reads and writings of a growing human.

The word Feminism

Unknown

To start off, I consider myself a feminist. I believe in equal rights for both men and women (not just women). However, the more I talked about it with my peers, the more I began to doubt the word. Some people believe that feminism is about womans rights only (femm-inism) and the word is now connected to man-hating. I decided to find the real definition of feminism so, like most people from my generation do, I googled it.

When googling the definition of something, there is a little box at the very top of the page that give you the definition of the word (or what wikipedia thinks is the definition of the word).This is also the definition that Siri reads aloud when you ask her on your iPhone. When you google or ask Siri feminism definition the little box at the top of the page says this.

” fem·i·nism
noun
the advocacy of women’s rights on the grounds of political, social, and economic equality to men.
synonyms: the women’s movement, the feminist movement, women’s liberation, female emancipation, women’s rights; informal women’s lib ,”a longtime advocate of feminism” “

What? This doesn’t say anything about equality of men and women, only of women. And though they might not be as obvious, men have inequalities as well. After reading this,I decided to click on the links below it to see if the definition was any different. The website below it was Merriam Websters online dictionary. This is their definition.

” feminism

noun fem·i·nism \ˈfe-mə-ˌni-zəm\
: the belief that men and women should have equal rights and opportunities
: organized activity in support of women’s rights and interests”

This is more what I believe feminism is. As I scrolled down the google search farther, I kept finding these two main definitions rephrased different ways but with the same ideas. I know that everyone has a different idea of what feminism is for them, but I know that if people continue to think that the fight for gender equality only benefits women, then the stereotype of the “crazy feminist” or “feminazi” will continue to pursue feminists. This simple change in online definition could make a difference in people’s opinions on the subject, for the worst. What are your opinions?

P.S. If you haven’t already, I highly suggest you watch Emma Watson’s speech for HeforShe. It very eloquently, yet truthfully talks about the issue and drives home its point in a way that makes you think for a long time afterward.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 28, 2015 by and tagged , .
